BREAKING | Malcolm Turnbull wins Liberal leadership vote

Australian Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has won the Liberal leadership spill.

Party whip Nola Marino confirmed Turnbull defeated Peter Dutton 48 votes to 35 in a Liberal party room challenge on Tuesday morning.

“We will now get on with the business of governing in the interests of all Australians,” Ms Marino told reporters outside Parliament House following the snap ballot.


Foreign Affairs Minister Julie Bishop was unopposed, securing her position as Deputy Leader of the party.

Peter Dutton will now move to the backbench with Barnaby Joyce and Tony Abbott after resigning as Home Affairs Minister.

The Liberal leadership was declared vacant at the start of the party room meeting at 9am.


Shanee is a full-time Digital Journalist and Social Media Content Producer. In 2014, Shanee graduated from Griffith University’s Gold Coast Campus with a Bachelor of Communications majoring in Journalism, Public Relations and Marketing. Since joining 1029 Hot Tomato, Shanee has been keeping you up to date with breaking news and everything Gold Coast on myGC. Shanee also writes and photographs for Peony & Page, a personal home, style and travel blog & Instagram alias she founded in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Notify of