Hawthorn’s Tom Mitchell wins the 2018 Brownlow Medal

Hawthorn star Tom Mitchell has won the 2018 Brownlow Medal for the AFL’s best and fairest player.

The midfielder was given the honour at the Australian Football Leagues annual awards ceremony at Melbourne’s Crown Palladium on Monday night.

After a stunning campaign in which he broke the AFL record for most disposals in a season, Mitchell polled 28 votes to take out the prestigious award.


The 25-year old follows in the footsteps of Hawthorn champions Col Austen who took out the Brownlow in 1949, Robert DiPierdomenico in 1986, John Platten in 1987, Shane Crawford in 1999 and Sam Mitchell in 2012.

Collingwood’s Steele Sidebottom followed on 24 votes, with Melbourne’s Angus Brayshaw rounding out the top three on 21 votes.

Isaac Heeney from the Sydney Swans took out the 2018 Mark of the Year Award, while Richmond’s Jack Higgins won the Goal of the Year.

Shanee is a full-time Digital Journalist and Social Media Content Producer. In 2014, Shanee graduated from Griffith University’s Gold Coast Campus with a Bachelor of Communications majoring in Journalism, Public Relations and Marketing. Since joining 1029 Hot Tomato, Shanee has been keeping you up to date with breaking news and everything Gold Coast on myGC. Shanee also writes and photographs for Peony & Page, a personal home, style and travel blog & Instagram alias she founded in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Notify of