12 NRL teams headed for Queensland to keep comp alive

Queensland is set to become the home of NRL once again, with league bosses confirming that 12 NRL teams will relocate here.

The nine Sydney teams will have to get out of the area, which continues to battle a growing Covid outbreak of the highly infectious Delta strain.

The Warriors, Raiders and Knights will also be coming to southeast Queensland as well, in order to keep the competition going.


Melbourne Storm will stay put, as well as all the Queensland teams.

Hubs will be set up on the Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast and Brisbane for at least the next month.

It’s still not clear exactly how much the move will cost the NRL, but it will be a huge injection for southeast Queensland once again.

The teams and their families will be staying at local hotels and playing a large number of games at Cbus Stadium over the coming weeks.

Warriors Coach Nathan Brown admits the move isn’t unexpected given what’s happening in Sydney.

“You’ve got to keep the comp going, don’t you? So that’s the best way to do it I think, we’ve just all got to support it and get involved and get up to Queensland,” Brown said.

Cronulla captain Shaun Johnson told Fox Sports it’s a bit disappointing.

“I’ve got my views on how Sydney, in particular, has handled this whole Covid situation, but look as long as we get to keep playing I guess.

“Ultimately this is our job, so whatever it takes to deliver what we get paid to do then I’m sure all the players will get on board with it,” Johnson said.