Adam Scott a finalist for Qld Australian of the year award

THREE people with Gold Coast links have been named as finalists for the  2015 Queensland Australian of the Year finalists. 

Bravehearts Founder Hetty Johnston, Hope Island golfer Adam Scott and the man who leads the Red Frogs into battle during Schoolies Week in Surfers Andrew Gourley all rating a mention.

Cowboy’s Rugby League star Johnathan Thurston and Australia Zoo’s Terri Irwin are also on the shortlist.


Premier Campbell Newman has congratulated a host of Queensland community champions.

“Each year, we are presented with an insight into the many great achievements and sacrifices that take place around our state through the Australian of the Year Awards,” Mr Newman said.

“The breadth of achievements from this year’s finalists is truly staggering. Among our state finalists are founders of multiple charities, national sporting heroes, leading advocates for social affairs and lifelong community leaders.

“Each of these finalists provides us with a unique story of tenacity, reminding us why it’s so great to be a Queenslander. While these finalists come from a range of backgrounds, one thing remains consistent – their ongoing commitment to making Queensland a better place.

“On behalf of all Queenslanders, I am pleased to acknowledge and celebrate these finalists and thank them for their contributions.”

The Queensland Australian of the Year 2015 finalists are:

Queensland Australian of the Year

  • Terri Irwin AM – conservationist (Sunshine Coast)
  • Hetty Johnston AM – child safety campaigner (Brisbane)
  • Adam Scott – sportsman and youth advocate (Gold Coast)
  • Johnathan Thurston – sportsman and reconciliation ambassador (Townsville)

Queensland Senior Australian of the Year

  • Clive Berghofer OAM – philanthropist (Toowoomba)
  • Jean Harris – leading fundraiser and volunteer (Brisbane)
  • Fred Hyde AM – lifelong community leader (Warwick)
  • Jean Little OAM – counsellor and Indigenous affairs campaigner (Cairns)

Queensland Young Australian of the Year

  • Yassmin Abdel-Magied – youth and multicultural affairs supporter (Brisbane)
  • Jamie-Lee Lewis – youth with disabilities mentor (Brisbane)
  • Sean McCarthy – volunteer and community activist (Sunshine Coast)
  • Madeline Price – gender equality campaigner (Brisbane)

 Queensland Local Hero

  • Andy Gourley – youth safety campaigner (Brisbane)
  • Gitie House – cultural diversity ambassador (Ramsay)
  • Uncle Barry Watson – community and Indigenous teacher (Logan)
  • Juliette Wright – social justice champion (Brisbane)

 The Queensland Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Local Hero recipients will be announced in Brisbane on Friday 24 October. State recipients then advance as finalists in the national Australian of the Year Awards, announced in Canberra on 25 January.

The Queensland Australian of the Year Awards program is managed by the Queensland Government on behalf of the National Australia Day Council.

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit