AFL DRAW | Gold Coast Suns secure 10 home games in 2020

THE full AFL draw for the 2020 season has been released and the Gold Coast Suns have managed to secure ten games at Metricon Stadium.

Port Adelaide, Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, West Coast, Richmond, Fremantle and Brisbane will all make the trip to the Coast.

There will also be blockbuster fixtures against Carlton and Hawthorn during the key tourism times of the Victorian Queens Birthday long weekend and school holiday period.


Suns fans also won’t have to travel far for another match, with the first of the two QClash games to be held at the Gabba in Round 10.

Acting Chief Executive Simon Fitzgibbon also welcomed the mix up of afternoon and twilight matches, with the club securing four Saturday afternoon games, one Saturday twilight, two Saturday night, one Sunday afternoon and two Sunday twilight matches at home.

“The 2020 AFL fixture is a great result for our members and fans on the Gold Coast. We know that a mix of matches at Metricon Stadium across the afternoon and twilight timeslots really suits our family market,” Fitzgibbon he said.

“Importantly for the wider Gold Coast the fixture allows interstate fans to travel during peak holiday periods to watch their team play at Metricon Stadium, staying on to enjoy everything the Coast has to offer.

Fitzgibbon said the Suns were also looking forward to hosting its first home game in Darwin against St Kilda on Saturday June 13th.

“The premiership game in Darwin is a small but significant part of our relationship with both the NT Government and AFL Northern Territory, and we’re looking forward to putting on an exciting spectacle against St Kilda,” Fitzgibbon said.

“Alongside our commitment to delivering programs and creating pathways to foster talent and develop people, we also want to encourage Territorians to come out and enjoy football at TIO Stadium.”


Looking at the rest of the fixture, Victorian powerhouses Richmond, Collingwood and Geelong will be dominating the primetime slots.

Richmond and Geelong both share the most Friday night fixtures with six each, while Collingwood has five.

Essendon will surprisingly dominate the Thursday night timeslot, with the Bombers handed four Thursday night matches.

Fremantle and Gold Coast are the only two sides without a single primetime fixture to their name, while Carlton is the only other side not rostered for a Friday night clash.

To check out the ENTIRE AFL feature for all the other clubs CLICK HERE.