Annastacia Palaszczuk’s new-look Ministry officially sworn in

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk’s new-look Government has today been sworn in at Brisbane’s Government House.

“It’s a great honour today to have the Ministry sworn in,” Ms Palaszczuk told reporters following the ceremony on Thursday.

“We’ve got a big job ahead of us,” she admitted.


“The people of this state put their trust in us and we will continue to manage the health crisis.

“But as I said the other day, I want all hands on deck as well when it comes to the COVID recovery.”

The Premier said she believes she’s picked the right people to deliver Queensland’s economic recovery plan.

“Especially in the Ministry and the Assistant Ministry,” Ms Palaszczuk said.

“A big focus as well on regional Queensland… We know how important regional Queensland is, and also to some of the sectors that need additional help with the COVID recovery, including small business and of course tourism.”

Gold Coast MP Meaghan Scanlon is part of the Queensland Government’s new-look cabinet and has become the youngest cabinet minister in the state’s history at just 27-years-old.

Ms Scanlon has been appointed as Minister for the Environment and the Great Barrier Reef, while she has also been given responsibility for Youth Affairs as well as Science.

The Member for Gaven said while she feels qualified in the youth sector, there’s a lot of work to do in her other portfolios as well.

“My first active involvement in politics was in 2007 at the election where the discussion around climate change was at the forefront,” Ms Scanlon said.

“So it continues to be incredibly important for this generation and generations to come and so I’m very privileged to have this portfolio,” Ms Scanlon said.

New Cabinet lineup: 

  • Annastacia Palaszczuk – Premier and Minister for Trade
  • Steven Miles – Deputy Premier and Minister for State Development, Local Government, Infrastructure and Planning
  • Cameron Dick – Treasurer and Minister for Investment
  • Grace Grace –  Minister for Education, Minister for Industrial Relations and Minister for Racing
  • Yvette D’Ath – Minister for Health and Ambulance Services
  • Shannon Fentiman – Attorney-General and Minister for Justice, Minister for Women and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence
  • Mark Bailey – Minister for Transport and Main Roads
  • Mick de Brenni – Minister for Energy, Renewables and Hydrogen and Minister for Public Works and Procurement
  • Leeanne Enoch – Minister for Communities and Housing, Minister for Digital Economy and Minister for the Arts
  • Mark Ryan – Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister for Fire and Emergency Services
  • Mark Furner – Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries
  • Stirling Hinchliffe – Minister for Tourism Industry Development and Innovation and Minister for Sport
  • Di Farmer – Minister for Employment and Small Business and Minister for Training and Skills Development
  • Craig Crawford – Minister for Seniors and Disability Services and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships
  • Glenn Butcher – Minister for Regional Development and Manufacturing and Minister for Water
  • Meaghan Scanlon – Minister for the Environment and the Great Barrier Reef and Minister for Science and Youth Affairs
  • Scott Stewart – Minister for Resources
  • Leanne Linard – Minister for  Children and Youth Justice and Minister for Multicultural Affairs

Assistant Ministers:

  • Bart Mellish Assistant Minister to the Premier for Veterans’ Affairs, Trade and COVID Economic Recovery
  • Nikki Boyd – Assistant Minister for Local Government
  • Charis Mullen – Assistant Minister for Treasury Assistant
  • Brittany Lauga – Assistant Minister for Education
  • Julieanne Gilbert – Minister for Health Infrastructure
  • Bruce Saunders – Assistant Minister for Train Manufacturing and Regional Roads
  • Lance McCallum – Assistant Minister for Hydrogen Development and the 50% Renewable Energy Target by 2030
  • Michael Healy – Assistant Minister for Tourism Industry Development