ARL Commission votes in controversial ‘no-fault stand down’ policy

The Australian Rugby League Commission has approved the rules surrounding its ‘no-fault stand down policy’.

A new, automatic ‘no fault’ stand down rule has now been officially added to the NRL rules, giving effect to the policy that was announced last month.


The game’s eight commissioners agreed to the terms of the new rule this afternoon, giving the NRL power to stand down players charged with serious criminal offences.

The NRL CEO will also be able to sand down players with other criminal offences, using his own discretion.

It comes just three days before Dragons star Jack de Belin returns to the Federal Court to argue the legality of the policy.

De Belin, Rabbitoh’s Dylan Walker and Panther’s Tyrone May have now been formally stood down pending the outcome of their court cases.