ASHES: England wins toss for first test against Australia

ENGLAND has elected to bat in the first Ashes test against Australia at the Gabba.

Australian skipper Steve Smith admitted he was also keen to bat first but it was Joe Root who won the toss in Brisbane.

Play gets underway at 10am AEST.


The Aussie side has confirmed opener David Warner and Shaun Marsh will both play in the opening clash despite niggling injuries.

Glenn Maxwell was flown in to Brisbane in case either is forced out.


AUSTRALIA: Steve Smith (capt), Cameron Bancroft, David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon. 12th man: Jackson Bird.

ENGLAND: Joe Root (capt), Alastair Cook, Mark Stoneman, James Vince, Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, Jake Ball, James Anderson. Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK), Marais Erasmus (RSA).