Aussie Cricket Captain – winning

Australia’s Steve Smith is the International Cricket Council’s pick for Cricketer of the Year.

Our Captain edged out Kiwi Brendon McCullum and South African AB De Villiers to become the fourth Australian to win the ICC’s Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

He also won the award for the Test player of the year.


Last night’s award capped of the stunning turnaround of Smith who made his Test debut in 2010 as a leg-spinner batting at No.8.

He is now the fourth-ranked batsman in Test cricket, only losing the top place at the start of this month.

It was a good night for the Aussies with Josh Hazlewood winning the Emerging Cricketer of the Year award and Meg Lanning taking out the Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year.