Aussie heartache as Johnson wins The Open

Australia has come painfully close to taking out the British Open at St Andrews, but it was American Zach Johnson who reigned supreme after winning a four-hole playoff with Australian Marc Leishman and South African Louis Oosthuizen.

While Johnson will be drinking from the Claret Jug, it was a heart-wrenching day for Australia.

Johnson negotiated the four-hole playoff at the Old Course over holes one, two, 17 and 18 in one under to beat Oosthuizen by a stroke and Leishman by three.


Leishman, who had blitzed the Old Course in 64-66 over the final two rounds was dealt a cruel blow when his opening shot in the playoff rested in a divot.

It meant his approach went to the back of the green and when the other two made birdies and his five-foot par attempt lipped out he was already two back and effectively gone.

Johnson birdied the second hole to extend an advantage and when all three bogeyed the 17th the American took a one-shot advantage to the last.

He had a chance from 20-feet to seal the win but missed before Oosthuizen, the 2010 champion at St Andrews, lipped out a 10-foot effort to extend the playoff.

The trio had earlier finished at 15-under-par 273s in an excitement filled final round.

Oosthuizen (69) and Johnson (66) birdied the final hole to get their place while Leishman had a 20-foot chance to ultimately win outright but missed on the left.

Jason Day fell one shot short, settling for a final-round 70 to be at 14 under, tied with Jordan Spieth (69), whose grand slam tilt slipped away with a bogey on the 17th hole.

Both could have found a way into the playoff with birdies on the last but failed in their bids

Adam Scott evoked his British Open demons with another back-nine collapse.

Scott took down the opening nine at the Old Course with a five-under 31 and then birdied the 10th to jump to 15 under for the tournament, at the time joining the lead.

But he played his last five holes in five over par, making bogey on the 14th and then inexplicably missing a putt from one foot on the 15th.

Another bogey on the 17th and a double bogey to finish after driving the ball out of bounds dropped him all the way back to 10 under.

Scott bogeyed the final four holes to cough up a four-shot lead in 2012 and was also inside the top five in 2013 and 2014 without claiming victory.

Marcus Fraser (-7), Steven Bowditch (-6), Matt Jones (-6), Geoff Ogilvy (-5), John Senden (-5), Scott Arnold (-5), Greg