Australian Kangaroos World Cup squad named

Australia’s squad for the 2017 Rugby League World Cup has today been named.

Test coach Mal Meninga made the squad announcement in Sydney on Tuesday, revealing four star Brisbane Broncos players have made it into the side.

Seven members of the Premiership-winning Melbourne Storm have also been selected in the Kangaroos squad, which will open its World Cup campaign against England on October 27.


The 24-man squad also includes six debutants – Dane Gagai from the Newcastle Knights, Wade Graham from the Cronulla Sharks, Felise Kaufusi, Jordan McLean, Cameron Munster from Melbourne Storm and Tom Trbojevic from the Manly Sea Eagles.

Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said he believes the squad has the right mix of youth and experience for a World Cup campaign.

“It was selected based on form, performances in the State of Origin series as well as previously in the green and gold jersey,” Meninga said.

“We have a number of players who can play multiple positions and that will be an advantage over the course of what we hope will be six matches.”

Cameron Smith will captain the squad, with the Sydney Roosters’ Boyd Cordner selected as Vice-Captain.