High Court hands down decision on Australia’s “Citizenship 7”

UPDATE @ 1.20pm: THE High Court has handed down its decision, ruling Deputy Prime Minister Barnaby Joyce is ineligible to sit in Parliament.

A by-election will now be called for his seat of New England.

Fiona Nash, Larissa Waters, Scott Ludlam and Malcolm Roberts have also been found to be ineligible to hold office.


Matthew Canavan and Senator Nick Xenophon have been ruled eligible to remain in Parliament.

However, Senator Xenophon has already announced that he will be standing down from Federal Parliament to contest a seat in South Australia’s next state election.

EARLIER @ 6.20am: Seven Federal politicians stuck in the middle of a dual citizenship debacle will today learn their parliamentary fate.

The high court is set to hand down its decision on whether or not the MP’s breached Section 44 of the constitution, which bans anyone holding a dual citizenship from sitting in parliament.

“Any person who is under any acknowledgment of allegiance, obedience, or adherence to a foreign power, or is a subject or a citizen or entitled to the rights or privileges of a subject or a citizen of a foreign power, shall be incapable of being chosen or of sitting as a senator or a member of the House of Representatives.”

Barnaby Joyce, Matt Canavan, Malcolm Roberts, Scott Ludlam, Larissa Waters, Fiona Nash and Nick Xenophon will all find out whether they are eligible to sit in parliament.

Greens senators Larissa Waters and Scott Ludlam have already resigned over the debacle.