Awards to honour great Queenslanders

QUEENSLANDERS have the opportunity to recognise our greatest achievers with nominations for the 2014 Queensland Greats Awards now open.

Premier Campbell Newman said the program honoured individuals and institutions whose long-term or lifetime achievements had played a significant role in shaping the history and development of Queensland.

“There are many worthy Queenslanders who deserve to be recognised and celebrated as part of one of our state’s most prestigious awards programs,” Mr Newman said.


“Since the award’s inception in 2001, 65 individuals and eight institutions have been inducted and honoured with commemorative plaques at Brisbane’s Roma Street Parkland.

“Last year, I was delighted to announce five inspiring individuals and one acclaimed institution as our Queensland Greats including Stefan Ackerie, Dr Dimity Dornan, Tim Fairfax, Professor G.Q. Max Lu, Herb Wharton and Australian Red Cross Society.

“They joined a distinguished list of Queenslanders from a variety of fields and pursuits, such as Deborah Mailman (2012), Wally Lewis (2011), Professor Michael Good (2010) and Blue Care (2009).

“This honour roll showcases the best of what our state has to offer.

“I encourage Queenslanders to nominate a friend, colleague, family member, community leader or institution they believe is achieving extraordinary things for our state.”

The 2014 Queensland Greats will be announced during Queensland Week celebrations, 31 May – 8 June 2014.

Nomination forms are available online at or by calling 3003 9200.

Nominations close at 5 pm on Friday 14 March 2014.