Bankwest to close 29 branches across Australia’s east coast

Bankwest has today announced that it will be closing 29 branches across the east coast of Australia.

The bank confirmed in a statement on Wednesday that they’re “prioritising investment in digital and broker/third-party offerings to meet changing customer needs.”

It’s understood the branches will close over a three-week period from 17 August, reducing its east coast footprint to just 14 branches.


Managing Director Rowan Munchenberg said rapid changes in the digital space required Bankwest to make important decisions on where to invest.

“Many people still value face-to-face interactions, but customers increasingly expect seamless self-service options that allow them to do their banking when and where they choose,” he said.

“We’re seeing a consistent trend of customers choosing mobile banking over in-branch options for their transaction needs, with an 88 per cent rise in app logins over the past three years.

“So, we’re transforming our organisation to respond more rapidly to these changing customer needs by adopting new ways of working and embracing new technologies.”

Mr Munchenberg said the change had been a difficult decision to make, given a significant number of east coast staff would be affected.

“We will work with and support impacted colleagues in the coming weeks, doing what we can to help them identify other opportunities, be they within or outside of the Group,” he said.

“We are writing to affected customers to outline options, such as using Australia Post’s Bank@Post services and, for business customers, taking advantage of CBA branches.”

Branch closure details:

– Charlestown NSW, August 17

– Carindale Queensland, August 17

– Southland Victoria, August 17

– Randwick NSW, August 20

– Chermside Queensland, August 20

– Box Hill Victoria, August 20

– Bondi Junction NSW, August 22

– Indooroopilly Queensland, August 22

– Doncaster Victoria, August 22

– Top Ryde NSW, August 24

– Mount Ommaney Queensland, August 24

– Eastlands Victoria, August 24

– Blacktown NSW, August 27

– Loganholme Queensland, August 27

– Highpoint Victoria, August 27

– Bankstown NSW, Aghust 29

– North Sydney NSW, August 29

– Knox City Victoria, August 29

– Miranda NSW, August 31

– Mount Druitt NSW, August 31

– Airport West Victoria, August 31

– Chatswood NSW, September

– Castle Hill NSW, September 3

– Hornsby NSW, September 5

– Eastgardens NSW, September 5

– Burwood NSW, September 5

– Penrith NSW, September 5

– Warringah Mall NSW, September7

– Lake Haven NSW, September 7