Bathurst 1000 winner still not confirmed

The winner of this year’s Bathurst 1000 is still up in the air, despite Jamie Whincup failing to overturn the penalty that cost him the race at an appeal last night.

The Supercars National Court of Appeal dismissed Whincup’s appeal, keeping the Peter Brock Trophy in the hands of Holden’s Will Davison.

However, Whincup’s Red Bull Racing team may still be in with a chance, if they decide in a week to take their case to the FIA International Court of Appeal.


Whincup was the first to cross the line on the October 9 race, but was slapped with a time penalty that relegated him to 11th.

The Red Bull driver was penalised for 15 seconds, for his role in a late incident that cost the race for Volvo’s Scott McLaughlin and Holden’s Garth Tander.

The three-man Supercars Court of Appeal panel took just 50 minutes to dismiss the appeal from the Triple Eight Race Engineering entry RBR.

RBR are yet to indicate whether they will appeal to the decision, so it may be another week before Davison and co-driver Jonathon Webb can officially celebrate their win.