Bells Beach surf comp called on

The opening day of the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach, the third stop on the World Surf League Championship Tour , has been called on.

Women’s Round 1 competition is underway in 1-1.5 metre conditions at Bells Beach.

Women’s Round 2 will be on standby and the men’s event has been called off for the day.


“We are back at Bells, one of the most iconic and historic stops on the entire Championship Tour,” said WSL Deputy Commissioner Jessi Miley-Dyer.

“We have arrived on opening day to find better than expected conditions. There are three-to-four foot waves on the bowl, and as the tide drops, conditions should only improve. We are going to kick-off with women’s Round 1 with Round 2 on standby. The men’s event will be off for the day. It’s set to be an exciting start to a great event.”

Laura Enever (AUS) returns from injury and will have her work cut out for her as she matches up with reigning WSL Champion Tyler Wright (AUS) and trials winner Ella Williams (NZL) in Heat 3 of Round 1.

Fresh off of a win at Margaret River is former event winner Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), who is set to hit the water in Heat 5 against an in-form Lakey Peterson (USA) and Pauline Ado (FRA).

Up first this morning will be defending event winner Courtney Conlogue (USA) against Sage Erickson (USA) and Coco Ho (HAW) in the opening heat of Round 1.

Rip Curl Women’s Pro Round 1 Match-Ups:

Heat 1: Courtney Conlogue (USA), Sage Erickson (USA), Coco Ho (HAW)
Heat 2: Carissa Moore (HAW), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS), Bronte Macaulay (AUS)
Heat 3: Tyler Wright (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Ella Williams (NZL)
Heat 4: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Keely Andrew (AUS), Isabella Nichols (AUS)
Heat 5: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Lakey Peterson (USA), Pauline Ado (FRA)
Heat 6: Johanne Defay (FRA), Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW), Silvana Lima (BRA)
Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Mick Fanning (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Ezekiel Lau (HAW)
Heat 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Stuart Kennedy (AUS), Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Nat Young (USA)
Heat 5: Kolohe Andino (USA), Jack Freestone (AUS), Samuel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 6: John John Florence (HAW), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Glyndyn Ringrose (AUS)
Heat 7: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Joan Duru (FRA)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS), Ian Gouveia (BRA)
Heat 9: Michel Bourez (PYF), Connor O’Leary (AUS), Ethan Ewing (AUS)
Heat 10: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Frederico Morais (PRT)
Heat 11: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Conner Coffin (USA), Bede Durbidge (AUS)
Heat 12: Julian Wilson (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)