South Korea added to Australia’s coronavirus travel ban

The Federal Government has widened its coronavirus travel ban to now include South Korea, whilst they’re also cracking down on travellers coming from Italy.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison also revealed that a travel ban preventing Chinese visitors from entering Australia has been extended for at least another week, following advice from chief medical officers.

“Today, we made a decision in relation to travel bands to continue the travel bands in relation to mainland China and in relation to Iran,” Mr Morrison said.


“We have also today decided that we will put in place a travel ban in relation to the Republic of Korea.”

The ban was due to end this weekend, however the Federal Government confirmed they have accepted the recommendation from medical experts to extend it in a bid to stop the spread of coronavirus.

The travel bans will now remain in place until March 14, however the Government will reassess the situation again in the next week.

The ban restricts foreign nationals who have been in mainland China, Iran and South Korea from entering Australia for 14 days from the time they have left or transited through the countries.

Australians who are returning will still be allowed to enter the country, but they will have to self-isolate for 14 days.

Mr Morrison also today announced advanced screening measures for anyone coming from Italy, which includes the temperatures of passengers being checked upon arrival into Australia.

“We will also put in place enhanced screening measures to deal with those travellers that have come from Italy,” he said.

“Travellers will be asked mandatory questions at check-in and anyone failing those checks will be denied approval to board.

“If anyone gets sick on board biosecurity and health will meet the plane and manage those people directly.”

At this stage, there have been more than 50 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Australia.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments