Clarke falls victim to Johnson’s power

Despite only excelling in the past few months, Australian Ashes hero Mitchell Johnson has picked up cricket’s coveted Allan Border Medal.

Sans ‘Mo’, the pace bowler capped off a remarkable comeback to test cricket to claim 168 votes compared to Captain Michael Clarke (156) who was on the way to becoming the only player to receive the award a record five times.

Johnson was left out of the Aussie squad for the tour of England, staying home to hone his skills in the shorter form of the game.


Sports News First reports, the 32-year-old notched eight more ODI appearances than his captain and across the three formats collected more wickets than any other Australian.

“It has been an amazing journey coming back from injury, having a lot of doubters out there,” Johnson said.

“But I just knew in my own heart that if I had that opportunity that I could make the most of it.”

Earlier, Clarke won the Test player of the year for a record fourth time.

George Bailey was named one-day player of the year, to ease the pain of being dropped from the squad that will tour South Africa next month.

Aaron Finch collected the Twenty20 player of the year award.

Victorian opener Meg Lanning won the Belinda Clark Medal for the premier female player of the year, Victorian Cameron White was named domestic player of the year and Tasmanian batsman Jordan Silk was presented with the Bradman young player of the year award.”