CONFIRMED! QLD and NSW name sides for State of Origin 1

Get excited footy fans… There’s officially less than one week to go until the opening game of this year’s State of Origin series.

In some more exciting news today, both sides have officially named their squads for the big clash at Adelaide Oval on Wednesday November 4.

Queensland Coach Wayne Bennet is set to play several rookies, with eight debutants named in the 17-man Maroons side for Game 1.


They include Titans star AJ Brimson, who’s replacing an injured Kalyn Ponga, along with fellow Titans teammate Phillip Sami who has been named on the wing.

Roosters captain Jake Friend will wear the No.9 jersey, while Storm star Tino Fa’asuamaleaui and Bronco Xavier Coates have also been named among those to start.

The full Queensland origin squad for Game 1 includes:

  1. AJ Brimson
  2. Xavier Coates
  3. Brenko Lee
  4. Dane Gagai
  5. Phillip Sami
  6. Cameron Munster
  7. Daly Cherry-Evans
  8. Christian Welch
  9. Jake Friend
  10. Josh Papalii
  11. Felise Kaufusi
  12. Coen Hess
  13. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui
  14. Ben Hunt
  15. Lindsay Collins
  16. Jai Arrow
  17. Jaydn Su’A
  18. Kurt Capewell
  19. Moeaki Fotuaika
  20. Dunamis Lui
  21. Hymel Hunt

NSW coach Brad Fittler has also named a number of rookies in his side, with Clint Gutherson, Luke Keary and Junior Paulo all in line to make their State of Origin debuts after being named in the top 17.

The extended bench includes three more potential debutants in Cameron McInnes, Nathan Brown and Zac Lomax.

The full NSW Blues origin squad for Game 1 includes:

  1. James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters)
  2. Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters)
  3. Clint Gutherson (Parramatta Eels)
  4. Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)
  5. Josh Addo-Carr (Melbourne Storm)
  6. Luke Keary (Sydney Roosters)
  7. Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
  8. Daniel Saifiti (Newcastle Knights)
  9. Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
  10. Junior Paulo (Parramatta Eels)
  11. Boyd Cordner (c) (Sydney Roosters)
  12. Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  13. Jake Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
  14. Cody Walker (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
  15. Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)
  16. Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
  17. Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters)
  18. Cameron McInnes (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  19. Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Parramatta Eels)
  20. Nathan Brown (Parramatta Eels)
  21. Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra Dragons)