Congratulations to the Gold Coast’s Order of Australia recipients

Three Gold Coasters have been honoured in this year’s Queen’s Birthday 2017 Honours List with the title of Order of Australia.

Vice Chancellor and President of Griffith University Professor Ian O’Connor received a Companion of the Order Award (AC) for “eminent service to tertiary education, particularly to the strategic development of national and international university initiatives, and to the community through engagement in social policy, child welfare and juvenile justice research.”

Meanwhile, Mrs Gwynneth May Bridge of Runaway Bay joined the ranks as a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia


Six Gold Coasters were recognised with a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for their service to the Gold Coast community: Mr Brian Raymond of Biggera Waters; Mr Daryl Maxwell Sanderson of Runaway Bay; Reverend Kenneth John Anderson of Nerang; Dr Roger Thomas Welch of Southport; Mr Paul Broughton of Southport; and Mr Desmond John Lacy of Oxenford.

A total of 108 Queenslanders were recognised in this year’s Honours List.

Premier Annastacia Palaszcuk added her congratulations, saying “they all share the same outstanding quality – they have all worked tirelessly in their respective fields to enrich our community.

“From extraordinary commitment to their profession, or dedication to community service, we are proud of them for always striving to make Queensland and Australia a better place to live and for giving back to our communities.

“I’m sure that all Queenslanders will join me in congratulating each and every one,” the Premier said.

A full list of the Queen’s Birthday 2017 Honours List is available on the Governor-General’s website at