Cooper Cronk and Jason Taumalolo are tied Dally M Medalists

Melbourne’s Cooper Cronk and North Queensland’s Jason Taumalolo are joint Dally M medalists for the 2016 NRL season.

For the second time in the event’s history, two players shared the stage, after former Parramatta star Jarryd Hayne and Cowboys stalwart Johnathan Thurston jointly claimed the award in 2014.

Thurston sets the record, wearing the medal for the fourth time last season.


Cronk, who also won the medal in 2013, joins the likes of Thurston, Hayne, Peter Sterling, Mick Potter and Andrew Johns – as a few of the eight players to win the award multiple times.

The Storm halfback’s career has seen a historic week, helping his team qualify for Sunday’s grand final, and joining the exclusive 300-game club.

Taumalolo is also the first forward to take the medal, following the Storm’s Cameron Smith in 2006.

Melbourne dominated the awards, also taking out positional prizes for Hooker (Smith), Halfback (Cronk) and Prop (Jesse Bromwich).

Gold Coast Titans’ Ash Taylor has walked away with Rookie of the Year, edging out Penrith’s Nathan Cleary, and leading try scorer, Melbourne’s Suliasi Vunivalu.

The 21-year-old’s career was looking bleak after he was cut loose by Wayne Bennett in Brisbane just last year.

His tremendous skills and dedication helped guide the Titans to an unexpected finals series, with experts earlier in the year dubbing the Gold Coast as wooden spoon contenders.

The halfback polished off his season with five tries, 15 try assists and 21 forced line dropouts.

Canberra also walked away with their hands full, taking out five awards including Captain of the Year (Jarrod Croker), Coach of the Year (Ricky Stuart) and Centre (Joseph Leilua).


Full List of 2016 Winners
Dally M Player of the Year: Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm) and Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)

Captain of the Year: Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)

Coach of the Year: Ricky Stuart (Canberra Raiders)

Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Ashley Taylor (Gold Coast Titans)

Representative Player of the Year: Cameron Smith (Queensland/Storm)

Fullback of the Year: James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)

Winger of the Year: Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers)

Centre of the Year: Joseph Leilua (Canberra Raiders)

Five-eighth of the Year: James Maloney (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Halfback of the Year: Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)

Lock of the Year: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)

Second-rower of the Year: Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)

Prop of the Year: Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm)

Hooker of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Top Points Scorer: Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)

Top Try Scorer: Suliasi Vunivalu (Melbourne Storm)

Provan Summons People’s Choice Medal: Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)

Holden Cup Player of the Year: Jayden Brailey (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Female Player of the Year: Kezie Apps

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Anthony Milford (Brisbane Broncos)

Ken Stephen Medal: Joel Thompson (St George Illawarra Dragons)