David Pocock shifted as Wallabies name squad to take on Wales

The Wallabies have reworked the David Pocock-Michael Hooper combination, in a new-look squad to take on Wales in the first test of their Spring Tour.

Pocock will switch his No.8 jersey and slot in at blindside following the one-week suspension of No.6 Dean Mumm.

There were suspicions Scott Fardy or Sean McMahon were favourites to replace Mumm, who was suspended for striking New Zealand’s Brodie Retallick.


Coach Michael Cheika says he opted for Pocock due to the pressure Wales are expected to bring at the breakdown.

Veteran James Slipper has earned a recall after sitting out the Argentina clash.

Cheika has also surprised predictions to switch misfiring fullback Israel Folau to outside centre, filling the void of injured Samu Kerevi.

Tevita Kuridrani will instead fill Kerevi’s boots over Folau whp’s on a career-long seven-game tryless run.

Nick Phipps has been handed the No.9 jersey, after halfback Will Genia was not given release from his French club Stade Francais.


Israel Folau, Dane Haylett-Petty, Tevita Kuridrani, Reece Hodge, Henry Speight, Bernard Foley, Nick Phipps, Lopeti Timani, Michael Hooper, David Pocock, Adam Coleman, Rory Arnold, Sekope Kepu, Stephen Moore (capt), Scott Sio. Reserves: Tolu Latu, James Slipper, Allan Alaalatoa, Rob Simmons, Scott Fardy, Nick Frisby, Quade Cooper, Sefa Naivalu.