England has missed the chance to grab another gold medal after a controversial decision to strip the winner of the men’s 200-metre final at Carrara Stadium on Thursday night.
Englishman Zharnel Hughes was initially declared the winner, despite clocking the exact same time as the second-place Jereem Richards from Trinidad and Tobago.
When officials viewed the replay they realised Hughes has accidentally smacked Richards in the face with his left arm as they cross lunged for the line.
ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER THIS ADVERTISEMENT
Unfortunately for Hughes, he had already finished his victory lap of honour around the grounds before he was told the bad news that he had been officially disqualified from the race.
England appealed the ruling but it was rejected.
We can confirm that our appeal has been unsuccessful and Zharnel Hughes has officially been disqualified. https://t.co/0SFVczKzKx
— Team England (@TeamEngland) April 12, 2018