Fanning among the winners at GQ Awards

Gold Coast surfer Mick Fanning was taken out Sportsman of the Year GQ Men of the Year Awards on Tuesday night.

The GQ awards celebrate the achievements of men in sports, chivalry, acting, singing and media.

Fanning told the crowd at Merivale’s Ivy Ballroom in Sydney that it was an honour just to attend the event.


“To be classed against such great sportsmen in Australia is huge,” Fanning said.

The 34-year-old attended the event with his wife of seven years Karissa Dalton.

The three-time world champion famously survived a shark attack on live television in South Africa earlier this year.

“To tell you the truth, I have learned a lot about myself and how to deal with things,” he said at the event.

“There’s been good and bad, so I guess it has been one of those years. It will be a good one to remember.”

Wallabies star David Pocock was named the Man of Chivalry, former Australian Test Cricket captain Michael Clark received the Sporting Legend Award and Australian actor Jai Courtney received the title of Actor of the Year.

Bali Nine drug smuggler Myuran Sukumaran was named Artist of the Year.

Sukumaran was executed in Indonesia by firing squad in April this year.

Ruby Rose, who flew back to Sydney from the US with her girlfriend Phoebe Dahl for the event, won the award of Woman of the Year.

Full list of the 2015 GQ Men and Woman of the Year:

1. International Man of Style, David Gandy

2. International Sensation, Cody Simpson

3. Woman of the Year, Ruby Rose

4. Sporting Legend, Michael Clarke

5. Actor of the Year, Jai Courtney

6. Man of Chivalry, David Pocock

7. Man of Style, Jordan Barrett

8. Breakthrough Actor, Ryan Corr

9. Musician of the Year, Daniel Johns

10. Breakthrough Solo Artist, Troye Sivan

11. Sportsman of the Year, Mick Fanning

12. Duo of the Year, The Madden Brothers

13. Chef of the Year, Guillaume Brahimi

14. Entrepreneur of the Year, Justin Hemmes

15. Media Personality of the Year, Waleed Aly

16. Artist of the Year, Myuran Sukumaran

17. Menswear Designer of the Year, Patrick Johnson