Federer, Sharapova lead elite fields for Brisbane International

A RECORD eight Grand Slam champions will headline Brisbane International this January, the highest number in the event’s six-year history.

Grand Slam champions Roger Federer (SUI), Juan Martin del Potro (ARG), Marin Cilic (CRO), Lleyton Hewitt (SA), Maria Sharapova (RUS), Ana Ivanovic (SRB), Sam Stosur (Qld) and Victoria Azarenka (BLR) will all descend on Brisbane to commence their 2015 campaigns.

Five of the world’s top 11 men – as well as 2009 US Open champion Juan Martin del Potro with an injury protected ranking of No.7 – and four of the top 10 women will feature at the event, setting the stage for a blockbuster week of on-court action.


Seventeen-time Grand Slam champion Roger Federer will lead the star-studded men’s draw alongside Kei Nishikori (JPN), Milos Raonic (CAN), reigning US Open champion Marin Cilic and Grigor Dimitrov (BUL).

Defending Brisbane International champion Lleyton Hewitt and countryman Bernard Tomic (Qld) will start as local favourites for the event, set to get under way at Queensland Tennis Centre on Sunday 4 January.

In the women’s draw five-time Grand Slam champion Maria Sharapova heads a world class line-up, alongside fellow top 10 players Ana Ivanovic, Angelique Kerber (GER) and Dominika Cibulkova (SVK).

Eight of the world’s top 20 women will battle it out for the 2015 title, with Andrea Petkovic (GER), Jelena Jankovic (SRB), Carla Suarez Navarro (ESP) and Garbine Muguruza (ESP) all confirmed to compete. Brisbane International 2012 champion Kaia Kanepi (EST) will also return for another tilt at the Evonne Goolagong Trophy.

Brisbane International Tournament Director Cameron Pearson said fans could look forward to a massive eight days of tennis in January.

“We’re thrilled with the calibre of the fields we have assembled for this summer’s event, the tournament continues to grow each year and 2015 is shaping up as one of our best yet,” he said.

“It’s fantastic to welcome Roger Federer back to Brisbane as well as our men’s defending champion Lleyton Hewitt, newly-crowned Grand Slam champion Marin Cilic and crowd favourites Grigor Dimitrov and Bernard Tomic.

“Each year the event attracts many of the world’s top women and 2015 will be no exception, with Maria Sharapova, Ana Ivanovic, Sam Stosur, Victoria Azarenka and many more big names set to compete.

“To have eight Grand Slam champions, five of the world’s top 11 men – as well as Juan Martin del Potro with an injury protected ranking of No.7 – and four of the top 10 women commit to Brisbane is a fantastic result, and certainly highlights the players’ regard for the tournament.

“One of the major reasons the players love coming to Brisbane is the fans, and I encourage the public to come along and show their support this summer. Tickets are selling fast so get in early and get ready for another big week of tennis in January.”

Brisbane International 2015 will be held at Queensland Tennis Centre from 4 to 11 January. For all tournament information and tickets please visit brisbaneinternational.com.au.