First Test to return to the Gabba this Summer

IT’S been confirmed the Gabba will host the first Test of the summer for the 2019-20 season.

Cricket Australia released the International schedules for both the men and women’s competitions on Tuesday morning, confirming the season opener will be against Pakistan in Brisbane from Thursday 21 November through to Monday 25 November.

The Test match will also see the two teams compete for the ICC Test Championship points for the first time on Australian soil. The ICC Test Championship is designed to deliver greater context to Test cricket and make every match count with nine countries participating for the 2019-2021 title.


The Gabba will also host Sri Lanka as part of a T20 International series that will see the tourists play under lights on 30 October in Brisbane as part of a three-match series.

Allan Border Field will be the host venue for the first international matches of the summer to be held in Queensland in early October, as the world champion Australian Women’s team step up their preparations for the 2020 ICC Women’s World Cup in Australia from February next year.

Australia will take on Sri Lanka in three Commonwealth Bank One Day Internationals in Brisbane, which has successfully hosted sell-out women’s international games in the past two seasons.

The women’s ODI games will be held on Saturday 5 October, Monday 7 October and Wednesday 9 October.

Queensland Cricket CEO Max Walters welcomed the return of the First Test.

“This is an excellent example of how cricket strives to put the fan first whenever possible in the face of what can be very complex scheduling challenges,’’ he said.

“Queensland Cricket has been steadfast in its desire to see the Gabba retain the First Test and deliver a level of certainty to the tens of thousands of cricket fans who enjoy watching the Australian team play in at the venue where they have experienced such sustained success.”

“We thank the Queensland Government for their openness in listening to Australian Cricket as to what is required to improve the fan experience at the Gabba and these positive talks continue,” he said.

Walters welcomed an increase in the number of International women’s matches for the State.

“As we ready ourselves to play an important role in the ICC Women’s World T20 Cup next year, it is a fitting reward for the fans who have supported women’s cricket throughout the State,’’ he said.

“The success of the WBBL matches in Mackay, where the champion Brisbane Heat side attracted a stand-alone crowd record last season and Cairns, and two sell-out International matches in as many years at Allan Border Field demonstrate there is strong support for the women’s game in Queensland,’’ Walters said.

Full 2019-20 International Fixtures
All start times are subject to change, and listed in local time

Women’s CommBank T20s v Sri Lanka

September 29: North Sydney Oval, 2.30pm

September 30: North Sydney Oval, 7pm

October 2: North Sydney Oval, 2pm

Women’s CommBank ODIs v Sri Lanka

October 5: Allan Border Field, 10am

October 7: Allan Border Field, 10am

October 9: Allan Border Field, 10am

Men’s Gillette T20s v Sri Lanka

October 27: Adelaide Oval, 2pm

October 30: Gabba, 6.10pm

November 1: MCG, 7.10pm

Men’s Gillette T20s v Pakistan

November 3: SCG, 2.30pm

November 5: Manuka Oval, 7.10pm

November 8: Perth Stadium, 4.30pm

Men’s Domain Test Series v Pakistan

November 21-25: Gabba, 10am

November 29-December 3: Adelaide Oval, 2pm (D/N)

Men’s Domain Test Series v New Zealand

December 12-16: Perth Stadium, 1pm (D/N)

December 26-30: MCG, 10.30am

January 3-7: SCG, 10.30am

Women’s CommBank T20 tri-series

January 31: India v England, Manuka Oval, 2.10pm

February 1: Australia v England, Manuka Oval, 2.10pm

February 2: Australia v India, Manuka Oval, 2.10pm

February 7: India v England, Junction Oval, 2.10pm

February 8: Australia v India, Junction Oval, 2.10pm

February 9: Australia v England, Junction Oval, 2.10pm

February 12: Tri-series Final, Junction Oval, 1.40pm

Men’s Gillette ODIs v New Zealand

March 13: SCG, 2.30pm (D/N)

March 15: SCG, 10.30am

March 20: Blundstone Arena, 2.30pm (D/N)