Five young guns re-sign with the Gold Coast SUNS

The Gold Coast SUNS have announced the re-signing of five young players, ahead of the release of their initial playing list.

Jacob Heron, Jacob Dawson, Nick Holman, Sam Fletcher and Mitch Riordan have all signed on for the 2020 season.

General Manager Football Operations, Jon Haines says the signing of all five players was a testament to the hard work they had put into their own careers.


“Each of the boys have worked hard to earn their spots on the club’s list, it’s a testament to their effort and work ethic.

“This brings the total number of players who have recommitted to the Suns this year to 20 which is reflective of the playing group’s growing belief in each other and the club,” Haines said.

Nick Holman’s become a regular for Coach Stuart Dew’s side over the past couple of years – playing 34 of a possible 44 games since joining the SUNS, though has been battling a back injury for the second half of the 2019 season.

“I am really excited, my first two years have been finding my way back in the AFL system, and now I can start building and helping the team succeed the way we want too, for at least the next two years.

“Last year I didn’t get much of a pre-season at all, I think now I’ve had the surgery and my back is feeling good I’ll get a full pre-season under my belt and be ready to go for next year.”

“We can keep building on what was a competitive first half of this year, we’ve got a lot of 2,3,4-year players that are ready to take the next step” Holman said.

While, local Jacob Dawson came through the SUNS academy, playing the final six games of the 2019 season.

“It was a great experience earning my spot in the team for the final rounds of the 2019 season, and as a Gold Coaster I’m looking forward to doing whatever I can to help the club continue to drive forward,” Dawson said.

Jacob Heron played five matches in the AFL side throughout 2019, and Riordon joined the club during the mid-season rookie draft.

The Gold Coast SUNS are expected to lodge their initial playing list for next season tomorrow.