Four debutants named in new-look Qld Origin side

FOUR debutants have been named in a new-look Queensland side for the opening State of Origin clash against New South Wales next month.

Queensland coach Billy Slater confirmed his side on Monday morning, naming Broncos duo Selwyn Cobbo and Pat Carrigan and Cowboys aces Reuben Cotter and Jeremiah Nanai in the Maroons side for the first time.

Cobbo has played his way onto the wing following a series of consistent performances for Brisbane, while a similar rich vein of form has been the catalyst for the selection of Cotter at lock.


Carrigan and Nanai will feature on the interchange bench alongside Harry Grant, with Ben Hunt named to start at hooker.

Lindsay Collins has also been named on the bench as he returns to the Origin arena for the first time since 2020 in which he played all three games of the series.

Queensland selectors have also rewarded the consistent efforts of forward mainstays Tino Fa’asuamaleaui, Josh Papalii, Kurt Capewell and Felise Kaufusi.

The proven halves combination of captain Daly Cherry-Evans and Cameron Munster unite again, with the experienced duo to combine with an exciting backline featuring Kalyn Ponga, Cobbo, Valentine Holmes, Dane Gagai and Xavier Coates.

Cherry-Evans will captain the Maroons for a fourth consecutive series.

Tom Dearden, Jai Arrow, Thomas Flegler, Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow and Murray Taulagi will also join the Maroons camp as part of an extended squad.

The side will assemble in Brisbane today to begin preparations for the June 8 clash in Sydney.

Full Queensland Maroons Squad:

1. Kalyn Ponga (Newcastle Knights)

2. Selwyn Cobbo (Brisbane Broncos)

3. Valentine Holmes (North Queensland Cowboys)

4. Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)

5. Xavier Coates (Melbourne Storm)

6. Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)

7. Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Sea Eagles)

8. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Gold Coast Titans)

9. Ben Hunt (St George Illawarra Dragons)

10. Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)

11. Kurt Capewell (Brisbane Broncos)

12. Felise Kaufusi (Melbourne Storm)

13. Reuben Cotter (North Queensland Cowboys)

14. Harry Grant (Melbourne Storm)

15. Lindsay Collins (Sydney Roosters)

16. Patrick Carrigan (Brisbane Broncos)

17. Jeremiah Nanai (North Queensland Cowboys)

18. Tom Dearden (North Queensland Cowboys)

19. Jai Arrow (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

20. Thomas Flegler (Brisbane Broncos)

21. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (North Queensland Cowboys)

22. Murray Taulagi (North Queensland Cowboys)