Gary Ablett named in the All Australian Team

This year’s All Australian squad has been announced – and includes 26 players who haven’t previously received nominations .. and only six players from last year.

They include Gary Ablett, Travis Boak, Scott Pendlebury, Jarryd Roughead, Joel Selwood and Harry Taylor.

Among the other notables were former Blues turned Crows Eddie Betts and Sam Jacobs. Carlton’s Bryce Gibbs has been rewarded with his break-out year with his first nomination.


Essendon young-gun Dyson Heppel has made the squad along with teammate Cale Hooker.

Hawthorn and Sydney are the most represented clubs, each providing five players.

Richmond’s dream run into September has helped gain nominations for trio Dustin Marin, Brandon Ellis and Alex Rance.

Melbourne is the only club not to have a player selected in the squad.