Gold Coast City SES unit recognised at award ceremony

THE GOLD Coast’s State Emergency Service (SES) volunteers have been recognised at the SES Week awards ceremony at Redbank Plains today.

The locals were praised for their efforts during and after a menacing storm that rocked the Coast on November 18, 2013, taking home the awards for South East Regional Unit of the Year and Regional Operational Response of the Year.

Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (QFES) Acting Deputy Commissioner for Operations and Emergency Management, Mark Roche, said the response undertaken by the Gold Coast City SES Unit was exceptional and commended the unit for their ongoing diligence.


“The Gold Coast City SES Unit responded to 329 requests for assistance in 31 hours during November 18 and 19, 2013,” Mr Roche said.

“These well skilled volunteers all came together to help others in vulnerable situations and I congratulate the unit on its tremendous effort during this event.

“The unit is always striving to enhance their skills and time and time again have demonstrated their commitment to their community during a significant event.”

South East Regional Manager for SES, Margaretta Burton, praised Deputy Group Leader for Pimpama SES Group, Gerard Hickey who was awarded South East Regional Member of the Year.

“Gerard has been an important part of the Pimpama SES Group, nurturing a culture of fellowship, learning and action so the group is operationally ready when a situation arises,” Ms Burton said.

“Most of Gerard’s weekends are spent conducting various training programs or organising events and matters for the Pimpama SES Group.

“He is an inspiration to fellow volunteers and should be commended for his support to the Gold Coast City SES Unit and the Pimpama SES Group.”

SES Week awards were also presented to volunteers who displayed exceptional dedication to their SES Units/Groups and communities.

Volunteers who received SES Week certificates were: Allan Richards (Runaway Bay SES Group), Ricki Thompson (Pimpama SES Group), Harold Master (Logan West SES Group), Dayna West (Carrara SES Group), Kristy Eastman (Coolangatta SES Group), Rhys Watson (Carrara SES Group), Roy Gerards (Carrara SES Group), Craig Guy (Jimboomba SES Group), David Dennison (Marburg SES Group) and John Dixon (Tamborine SES Group).

National Medals, Meritorious Service Medals and Clasps, Director’s Certificates of Commendation and Outstanding Service Certificates were also presented to volunteers at today’s ceremony.

Volunteers who received National Medals and Clasps of service were: Tim Robertson (Pimpama SES Group), Peter Griffiths (Rosewood SES Group), Garry Hanel (Marburg SES Group – first clasp) and Neville Finlay (Toogoolawah SES Group – first clasp).

Volunteers who received Meritorious Service Medals and clasps were:

10 year Meritorious Service Medal
Philip Westlake (Coolangatta SES Group)
Kenneth Kassulke (Toogoolawah SES Group)
Julie-Ann Bryen (Goodna SES Group)
Belinda Quaill (Logan East SES Group)

15 year Meritorious Service clasp
Leif Dolerud (Coolangatta SES Group)
Peter Griffiths (Rosewood SES Group)
Kurt Langer (Logan Central SES Group)
Simon Trace (Beaudesert SES Group)

25 year Meritorious Service clasp
Francine Jones (Kilcoy SES Group)
Richard Jones (Kilcoy SES Group)
Tara Fahy (Beaudesert SES Group)
David Dennis (Logan East Group)

30 year Meritorious Service clasp
Neville Finlay (Toogoolawah SES Group)
Ian Ross (Logan Central SES Group)

35 year Meritorious Service clasp
Keith Smith (Tamborine SES Group)
Matthew Mackellar (Ipswich Group)
Kevin Martin (Beaudesert Group

Volunteers who received Director’s Certificates of Commendation were: Tara Fahy (Beaudesert SES Group), Zac Cunningham (Beaudesert SES Group), William Gaudry (Tamborine SES Group), and Peter Skinner (Aratula SES Group).

Volunteers who received Outstanding Service Certificates were: Judith Gilbert-Case (Logan Village SES Group), Wayne Owens (Logan East SES Group) and Dylan Paterson (Logan Central SES Group).