Gold Coast SUNS name ‘Team of the First Decade’

It’s been ten years since the Gold Coast SUNS played their first game at Metricon Stadium, and to celebrate, the club has today named its Team of the First Decade.

The 22-man squad was chosen from almost 60 players who had played more than 30 games for the Club or finished top three in the Club Champion Award.

According to the SUNS, the team has been released to acknowledge the “on-field contributions” of the club’s best players throughout the past decade.


“As part of the celebrations for the 10th anniversary of our first match at Metricon Stadium, we wanted to honour the players who have been central to this journey by creating a Team of the First Decade,” Gold Coast SUNS CEO Mark Evans said.

“This 10-year milestone is a great chance to reflect on our short history and to build the sense of pride that comes with celebrating our people and events.”

The team was selected by a panel made up of inaugural and current senior coaches Guy McKenna and Stuart Dew, SUNS club games record holder Jarrod Harbrow, Herald Sun journalist Mark Robinson, and Fox Footy commentator and three-time premiership player Alastair Lynch.

Gary Ablett has been given the honour of Captain, while David Swallow has been awarded Vice-Captain.

Nine current SUNS players made the team, including Sam Collins, Jarrod Harbrow, Charlie Ballard, Touk Miller, Alex Sexton, Jarrod Witts, David Swallow, Sam Day, Lachie Weller and every winner of the Club Champion Award including Ablett, Tom Lynch, Swallow, Harbrow, Witts and Collins.

“There was strong debate amongst the panel and, as expected, a number of players were very unlucky to not make the final 22. That’s always the way with selecting these teams,” Mr Evans said.

“I want to thank the panel for helping with the tough task of picking a final 22 and to also congratulate those players selected.

“There are some very, very talented players in this team and we are proud of them.”

The Gold Coast SUNS take on the Brisbane Lions in the much-anticipated QClash20 at Metricon Stadium tomorrow.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments