Gold Coast Surf Lifesaving Club wins state award

Gold Coast’s Pacific SLSC has taken out one of the state’s highest accolades, officially named on Saturday night as the 2015/16 Queensland Surf Life Saving Club of the Year.

The club was one of just four from across Queensland shortlisted for the honour, beating Sarina, Southport and Mudjimba Surf Life Saving Clubs for the top award.

It capped off a stellar evening for the surf club, which was also took home the award for Queensland Youth Development Club of the Year.


Meanwhile, Pacific lifesaver Kevin Schofield was awarded the prestigious Clive Hammond OAM Gold Medal in recognition of his significant contribution to the club and the wider surf lifesaving movement.

There was also plenty of joy for other Gold Coast clubs, particularly in the sporting categories, with Northcliffe’s ironman champion Shannon Eckstein named the Queensland Athlete of the Year, Kurrawa’s Nicole Kay named Queensland’s Youth Athlete of the Year (15-18 years), and Northcliffe’s Lee Vrolyks named Queensland Masters Athlete of the Year.

Gold Coast award winners:

*Queensland Club of the Year ¡V Pacific SLSC

*Queensland Youth Development Club of the Year – Pacific SLSC

*Clive Hammond OAM Gold Medal – Kevin Schofield (Pacific)

*Breaka Under-14 Junior Surf Lifesaver of the Year – Chloe Boland (Surfers Paradise)

*Queensland Trainer of the Year – Peter Gabbert (Nobbys Beach)

*Queensland Athlete of the Year – Shannon Eckstein (Northcliffe)

*Queensland 15-18 Years Youth Athlete of the Year – Nicole Kay (Kurrawa)

*Queensland Masters Athlete of the Year – Lee Vrolyks (Northcliffe)
*Queensland Team Manager of the Year ¡V Danyelle Lipponen (Coolangatta)

*Queensland Official of the Year ¡V Scott Byrnes (Kirra)