Gold Coast team takes out gong at Radio awards

The who’s who of radio-land ditched the trackies and swapped early morning coffee for late night champagne at the medium’s answer to The Logies on Saturday night.

Big names including Kate Ritchie, Ben Fordham, Melissa Doyle and Amanda Keller walked the red carpet at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre for the Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs).

Keller, who’s one half of Sydney radio duo Jonesy and Amanda, came away a big winner, taking the gong for Best Music Special for Mothers Who Rock. She also became the first woman to be inducted into the Hall of Fame for outstanding lifetime achievement and contribution to the industry.


Talk-back host and sports presenter, Ray Hadley, was also bestowed the Hall of Fame honour on top of another three awards – taking his total number of ACRAs to 30.

For the second year running, Kate Ritchie, Tim Blackwell and Marty Sheargold won the Best On-Air Team (Metro FM).

While the crew of the Gold Coast’s number one breakfast show, Flan and Emily Jade with Christo, will fly home on cloud 9 after being named the Best On-Air Team for the Provincial category.

“I could not be more thrilled, humbled, and thankful that I won my first Radio Award with this team, on this station, in this year, and on this night,” Emily Jade wrote on Facebook.

While Sean ‘Flan’ Flanagan said he was “stoked beyond words”. is a commercial partner with 102.9 Hot Tomato.