Gold Coasters among hundreds honoured on Australia Day

SEVERAL Gold Coast residents are among hundreds of people, including sports stars, scientists and politicians, who have been honoured this Australia Day.

845 inspiring Australians have been named in the Australia Day Honours list, the youngest just 24 years old, the eldest 101.

Among the big names, former Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull, who was one of four people made a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC).


He was honoured for his service as Prime Minister, particularly for his contributions to national security, free trade, the environment and marriage equality.

Horse trainer Gai Waterhouse, cricket legend Greg Chappell and former Socceroo Tim Cahill are among those to be appointed Officers of the Order of Australia (AO).

Melbourne Cup winning jockey Michelle Payne was honoured with a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for her service to the horse racing industry.

On the Gold Coast, Gold Logie winner Lorrae Desmond was named a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her “significant service” to the performing arts as an actor, entertainer and signer.

The 91-year-old is best known for her role in the long-running Australian soap A Country Practice, winning a Silver Logie for best supporting actress in 1984.

She had earlier won the Gold in 1962 for the Lorrae Desmond Show.

Gold Coast motorbike champion Toby Price, was honoured with a Medal of the Order of Australia for his service to motorsport, particularly to cross country motorcycle racing.

Price has twice won the gruelling Dakar Rally in 2016 and 2019. His 2021 campaign was cut short after needing to be airlifted to hospital after a crash in the dying stages.

They were among 117 Queenslanders to be honoured on Australia Day and have been sent congratulations from Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk.

“Australia Day is an opportunity to celebrate our homegrown success and recognise extraordinary individuals who have inspired us and motivated communities toward progress, innovation, compassion and kindness,” the Premier said.

“This year’s Australia Day Honours List has recognised 117 Queenslanders who exemplify the Australian spirit, and whose experiences reflect the incredible diversity of public life in Queensland.

“They are Queenslanders who have advocated on behalf of our veterans, who have led conservation efforts, who have nursed people through ill health, who have educated and empowered our young people, and who have entertained us on the sporting field, the stage and the screen.

“Today they join a prestigious list of Australians whose actions and ideas have shaped the nation for the better.

“I congratulate all the Queenslanders named in the 2021 Australia Day Honours List.”

Gold Coasters appointed Officers (AO) in the General Division:

  • Dr Russell Evan Reichelt, Mudgeeraba, for distinguished service to marine conservation, to ecosystem management of the Great Barrier Reef, and to climate change research

Gold Coasters appointed a Member (AM) in the General Division:

  • Ms Lorrae Desmond, Runaway Bay, for significant service to the performing arts as an actor, entertainer and singer
  • Commodore William Leonard Taylor Ran, Runaway Bay, for significant service to the people and Parliament of Australia, and to public administration

Gold Coasters awarded a Medal (OAM) in the General Division:

  • Mrs Barbara Dawn Forrest, Robina, for service to lawn bowls
  • Professor Tammy Coral Hoffman, Robina, for service to clinical epidemiology, and to occupational therapy
  • Dr Jeffrey Stevens Kemp, Currumbin, for service to youth through counselling and sporting programs
  • Mr Toby Price, Burleigh Heads, for service to motorsport, particularly to cross country motorcycle racing
  • Mr Samuel Nelson Todhunter, Mermaid Waters, for service to aviation.
  • Dr John Glover Youngman, Tamborine Mountain, for service to medicine, and to medical administration.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments