Greg Inglis has been named the new captain of the Australian Kangaroos

Greg Inglis will take over from Cameron Smith as the new national captain of the Kangaroos, ahead of their tests against New Zealand and Tonga.

Following the rep retirement of Cameron Smith, the appointment of a new captain didn’t come as a huge shock.

The 19 man squad has been announced this morning with 4 debutantes, including James Tedesco and Tyrone Peachey as the squad’s bolter.


Roosters Premiership Winner Latrell Mitchell has been rewarded for his superstar effort in last nights’ NRL Grand Final with a spot in the team as well.

Head Coach Mal Meninga has confirmed that James Tedesco will play fullback and Daly Cherry-Evans will start at halfback, though the big news is the team’s new captain.

Meninga is excited for the upcoming test matches, and says Inglis will do a great job.

“He [Inglis] believes that the Kangaroos jersey is the most precious in the game, and he’s going to be a tremendous leader for Rugby League,” said Mr Meninga.

Cameron Munster was named as five-eighth ahead of Clive Churchill medal winner Luke Keary despite his poor performance in the Grand Final.

But Keary could still be called up with Munster facing suspension for kicking Joseph Manu in the head late in the decider.