Holden’s van Gisbergen wins Bathurst 1000

Shane van Gisbergen has secured a memorable Supercars victory for Holden in the iconic Australian motoring brand’s final Bathurst 1000.

In teaming up with three-time winner Garth Tander, van Gisbergen conquered Mt Panorama for the first time to claim the 161-lap enduro on Sunday.

The Red Bull champion held off numerous fierce passing attempts from Ford’s Cameron Waters, who started the great race in pole position.


Not even two safety cars being called in the final nine laps could derail van Gisbergen’s charge towards victory.

The New Zealander’s previous best result at Bathurst was second in 2016 and 2019, while veteran Tander tasted the ultimate success in 2000, 2009 and 2011.

Chaz Mostert, who won a dramatic Bathurst 1000 in 2014 driving a Ford, ensured two Holden drivers stood on the podium by coming third.

The result means Commodores have won five of the last six Bathurst 1000s, with only Scott McLaughlin (2019) saluting for Ford since 2015.

It is Holden’s last Supercars race in an official capacity before the red lion is retired by General Motors at the end of this year.

Defending champion McLaughlin finished fifth in what could be the Ford superstar’s last race in Australia before he begins an IndyCar career.

While van Gisbergen took the chequered flag, it was a disastrous day for star Triple Eight teammate Jamie Whincup, who crashed out on lap-33.

© AAP 2020