Hot Tomato in the mix for Aussie Radio awards

Just days after re-affirming its place as the Gold Coast’s No.1 commercial radio station, 102.9 Hot Tomato has bagged a bunch of nominations for the industry’s biggest awards night.

The finalists for the 29th annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) were announced on Sunday morning.

Hot Tomato’s much-loved breakfast show, Flan and Emily Jade with Christo has been nominated for Best On-Air Team (provincial). The trio will go up against counterparts from Wollongong, Sydney, Launceston and Geelong.


While their producer, Toni Kipa, could be celebrating three wins.

Not only will she bask in the glory of possible success for the breakfast crew, the 22-year-old could be named Best Newcomer Off-Air, and is also part of the team listed for Best Station Promotion, after being elevated from her role as Promotions Coordinator to Breakfast Producer earlier this year.

Breakfast journalist Rebecca Dakin is in line for Best News Presenter (provincial). It’s her maiden nomination after biting the bullet and submitting an entry for the first time since joining the Hot Tomato family fresh out of university in 2012.

Rounding out the pack is Matthew Fulton, who is eyeing off a gong for Best Achievement in Production for his slick work behind the scenes.

Five-time ACRA winners Kyle and Jackie-O are also among the nominees, alongside Fifi Box, Chrissie Swan, Dave Hughes and Kate Langbroek.

The winners will be announced at a star-studded event at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on October 14. is the digital arm of 102.9 Hot Tomato.