James McGrath claims top spot on Qld LNP senate ticket

James McGrath has beaten Amanda Stoker for the top spot on the Queensland LNP senate ticket for the next Federal election.

It comes after over 300 members of the LNP, from all over Queensland, gathered in Brisbane on Saturday for the party’s State Council.

Senator Mcgrath defeated newly-appointed Assistant Women’s Minister Amanda Stoker for the top position with a convincing win of 212 votes to 101.


Senator Stoker was awarded third, behind Nationals senator Matt Canavan.

“Senators McGrath, Canavan and Stoker will continue their hard work on behalf of Queenslanders and we look forward to Brad, Andrew and Nicole joining them for the election campaign,” Acting President of the LNP Cynthia Hardy said.

“The Prime Minister has made it clear that we have much to do to lock in an economic recovery from COVID19 and the LNP is focused on helping Queensland recover as quickly as possible.

“The LNP Senate Team will be key in supporting the Prime Minister and his government, as they carry on the important work of economic recovery.”

Full order of the Queensland LNP senate ticket:

James McGrath – Liberal Party
Matt Canavan – The Nationals
Amanda Stoker – Liberal Party
Brad Carswell – Liberal Party
Andrew Cripps – The Nationals
Nicole Tobin – Liberal Party

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

No winners here, they are still in opposition!

Labor is a joke and the LNP is a joke and her I am stuck in the middle with you! ➡️