Kangaroos squad named for Four Nations

FIVE players are expected to make their international debuts for the Kangaroos clash against New Zealand in the Four Nations opener on Saturday.

Australian coach Tim Sheens named an extended 20-man squad on Tuesday for the Suncorp Stadium encounter, but included five rookies in his 17.

Josh Mansour, Daniel Tupou, Dylan Walker, Aaron Woods and interchange forward Aidan Guerra have all been named in an Australian side hit by injury-enforced withdrawals.


In the absence of Johnathan Thurston, Daly Cherry-Evans has been chosen to partner Cooper Cronk in the Kangaroos halves.

Beau Scott has been named in the back-row alongside Ryan Hoffman and Greg Bird, for his first Test cap since 2011.

Sam Thaiday will partner Woods in the frontrow, with captain Cameron Smith slotting into hooker.

Greg Inglis will slip into the fullback role due to Billy Slater’s injury while Walker fills the boots of Jarryd Hayne.

FULL AUSTRALIAN SIDE: Greg Inglis, Josh Mansour, Michael Jennings, Dylan Walker, Daniel Tupou, Daly Cherry-Evans, Cooper Cronk, Aaron Woods, Cameron Smith (capt), Sam Thaiday, Beau Scott, Ryan Hoffman, Greg Bird. Res: Robbie Farah, Aidan Guerra, Josh Papalii, Corey Parker, Boyd Cordner, David Klemmer, Sione Mata’utia (three to be omitted).