Deb Frecklington elected as Queensland’s new LNP leader

UPDATE @ 3.30pm: It’s official. Deb Frecklington is the new leader of Queensland’s Liberal National Party.

Opposition Whip Trevor Watts confirmed the appointment on Tuesday afternoon, also revealing Tim Mander as the party’s Deputy Leader.

“I would like to announce that Deb Frecklington has been duly elected as our leader and Tim Mander has been duly elected as our Deputy Leader,” Mr Watts said.


“Everybody was very supportive once the announcement was made and we are very happy to have a new leadership team and we look forward very much to getting into the new parliament.”

Ms Frecklington, who was elected by her fellow colleagues on Tuesday, is the party’s first ever female leader.

EARLIER @ 7.15am: Queensland’s Liberal National Party is set to meet today to vote in a new state leader.

Three contenders have put their hand up for the role – including Tim Nicholls’ deputy leader Deb Frecklington, Oodgeroo MP Mark Robinson and former LNP leader John-Paul Langbroek.

Ms Frecklington is understood to be the favourite, and if chosen, she would be the party’s first ever female leader.

However, Gold Coaster John-Paul Langbroek believe’s he’s the man for the role, having already had the experience.

Self-described underdog Mark Robinson, from Brisbane’s bayside, says he is hoping to lead the party in a completely new direction.

Former LNP leader Tim Nicholls announced he would be stepping down after conceding defeat to Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk following the state election.

“This morning I rang @AnnastaciaMP to concede & wish her the best,” Mr Nicholls tweeted on Friday.

“I am proud of the positive campaign @LNPQLD ran. I take full responsibility for it.

“At the party room on Tuesday I will not seek to continue as LNP leader. It is time for a new generation of LNP leaders.”