Money for nothing

THIS is not an April Fools’ joke.

I repeat, this is not an April Fools’ joke.

The Labor Opposition has decided to give their unasked for pay rises to their local community groups.


ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER THIS ADVERTISEMENT


So eight lucky Labor electorates are about to score big time.

That is unless the LNP Government sees the error of its ways and overturns the decision which will see Campbell Newman reap a $70,000 increase to $379,562, making him the most expensive premier in the country.

And history would suggest that is unlikely.

Cornered by the media as they sauntered into the Executive Building for a cabinet meeting, the Newman Government ministers demonstrated that they had all read the ‘memo’.

“This is something that was that’s been decided by an independent tribunal …,” they parroted obediently.

National Parks, Recreation, Sport and Racing Minister Steven Dickson said no one in his Buderim electorate had even come to his electorate office wanting to discuss the issue.

“I think everybody is worth what they are paid,” he added, mentally counting his $80,000 pay increase.

What the …?

But seriously, look at his job title – BEST. JOB. EVER!

He should be paying us.

So Opposition leader Annastacia Palaszczuk’s electorate of Inala is in the money with her $80,000 increase to $310,347 – which is in line with what government ministers get.

Unfortunately, the Gold Coast will miss out once again.

But I have a plan.

On the Gold Coast, no one is going to get anything unless PUP MP Alex Douglas decides to give his committee member boost of $14,854 to his Gaven people.

So my suggestion is we all email or call our local LNP MPs and ask them to cough up the money.

The constituents of Surfers Paradise and Currumbin, who have government ministers representing them with a spare $80,000 burning a hole in their pockets, should start planning their submissions immediately.

The Gold Coast’s other seven LNP MPs all now have a minimum of $14,854 to share with the rest of you.

To start you off, I have listed their details below.

Good luck.

Albert
Mark Boothman
Email: Albert@parliament.qld.gov.au

Broadwater
Verity Barton
Email: Broadwater@parliament.qld.gov.au

Burleigh
Michael Hart
Email: Burleigh@parliament.qld.gov.au

Coomera
Michael Crandon
Email: Coomera@parliament.qld.gov.au

Currumbin
Jann Stuckey $$$
Email: Currumbin@parliament.qld.gov.au

Gaven
Alex Douglas
Email: Gaven@parliament.qld.gov.au

Mermaid Beach
Ray Stevens $$
Email: Mermaid.Beach@parliament.qld.gov.au

Mudgeeraba
Ros Bates
Email: Mudgeeraba@parliament.qld.gov.au

Southport
Rob Molhoek
Email: Southport@parliament.qld.gov.au

Surfers Paradise
John-Paul Langbroek $$$
Email: Surfers.Paradise@parliament.qld.gov.au

 

 

[signoff icon=”icon-thumbs-up”]The Meddler

Here’s your chance to get your opinion in front of a larger audience. And earn a dollar!

Anything from the minutiae to the meaningful, the heartfelt to the humorous, if you’ve got an issue or a rant you think Gold Coasters need to read submit it to The Meddler. There’s $50 for each contribution published.

Contributions should be under 400 words, please supply contact details including a phone number. The Meddler reserves the right to edit articles submitted. Please send to news@mygc.com.au

[/signoff]

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments