Cricket Ball

Neser, Johnson claim top honours at Qld Cricket Awards

Gold Coast Dolphins duo Michael Neser and Sammy-Jo Johnson have claimed the major male and female awards at the Queensland Cricket Awards Night on Thursday.

Neser received the Ian Healy Trophy as the Queensland Bulls player of the year for the second year in a row while Johnson was announced as the Konica Minolta Queensland Fire player of the year for the first time.

27-year-old Neser finished as Queensland’s leading wicket-taker in both the Shield and JLT One Day Cup competitions.


His Healy Trophy victory saw him poll consistently in each match that he played. Neser joins Bulls greats like James Hopes and Chris Hartley (3), Ashley Noffke, Michael Kasprowicz and Andy Bichel (2) as a winner of more than one Healy trophy.

In 2017-18, his 39 Shield wickets at 21.84 was the second most in the competition, while his prowess in the limited overs arena also extended to the bat where he scored first one-day century with a counter-attacking 122 against WA almost snatching a remarkable victory in a high-scoring clash.

He was an important contributor in Queensland’s eighth Shield title triumph that culminated with the Bulls nine-wicket win over Tasmania in the Final at Allan Border Field on Tuesday.

Johnson, who was also named as the Fire Players’ Player, did not falter for Queensland during the summer.

The Lismore product was the equal leading wicket-taker for the Fire with her nine dismissals coming at the lowest average of 16.44 while she was also the second highest runs-scorer with 157 runs at 31.40.


Queensland captain Usman Khawaja claimed the JLT One Day Cup player of the year award.

2017-18 Queensland Cricket Awards
Ian Healy Trophy Bulls Player of the Year: Michael Neser
Konica Minolta Queensland Fire Player of the Year: Sammy-Jo Johnson
Brisbane Heat MVP: Yasir Shah
WBBL Brisbane Heat MVP: Beth Mooney
Bulls Players’ Player: Peter Forrest
Fire Players’ Player: Sammy-Jo Johnson
Sheffield Shield Player of the Year: Brendan Doggett
JLT One Day Cup Player of the Year: Usman Khawaja
Queensland Academy of Sport Player of the Year: Peter Forrest
State Government Queensland Country Male Player of the Year: Mitchell English (Mackay)
State Government Queensland Country Female Player of the Year: Stephanie Baldwin (Townsville)
Queensland Thunder Indoor Player of the Year: Adrian Lascu
Queensland Lightning Indoor Player of the Year: Meagan Dixon
Qld Fire Fielders Award: Kirby Short
Qld Bulls Fielder of the Year: Michael Neser

Other awards
Qld Volunteer of the Year: Trisha Spry (Mareeba)