The days of using your boyfriend’s brother’s Netflix account may be up, with the streaming giant launching a crackdown on password sharing.
According to GammaWire, Netflix is testing a new feature that could put an end to our cheeky account-sharing business.
Over the past few days, some viewers trying to use someone else’s account have reportedly been interrupted by a pop-up alert from the streaming platform.
ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER THIS ADVERTISEMENT
“If you don’t live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching,” the message reads.
Viewers are then asked to verify whether they’re authorised to use the account, by confirming with a text or email which is sent to the account owner.
Netflix has confirmed that they are indeed testing the new feature, however, it’s not known whether it will become permanent.
“This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so – both by the member who owns the account and under our Terms of Service,” the company said in a statement.
Netflix’s terms of service state that accounts “may not be shared with individuals beyond your household.”