Novak Djokovic sensationally disqualified from US Open

UPDATE @9.00AM | Novak Djokovic has now publicly apologised for his actions at the US Open, which have seen him disqualified from the tournament.

The world number one was defaulted out of his fourth round match, after hitting a lineswoman with a ball.

Footage shows it hitting her in the throat, before she’s heard gasping and he rushes over to her.


ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER THIS ADVERTISEMENT


Djokovic has since posted to his Instagram, apologising for his actions.

“This whole situation has left me really sad and empty. I checked on the lines person and the tournament told me that thank God she is feeling ok.

“I‘m extremely sorry to have caused her such stress. So unintended. So wrong. I’m not disclosing her name to respect her privacy,” it reads.

“As for the disqualification, I need to go back within and work on my disappointment and turn this all into a lesson for my growth and evolution as a player and human being.

“I apologize to the @usopen tournament and everyone associated for my behavior.

“I’m very grateful to my team and family for being my rock support, and my fans for always being there with me. Thank you and I’m so sorry,” he said.

View this post on Instagram

This whole situation has left me really sad and empty. I checked on the lines person and the tournament told me that thank God she is feeling ok. I‘m extremely sorry to have caused her such stress. So unintended. So wrong. I’m not disclosing her name to respect her privacy. As for the disqualification, I need to go back within and work on my disappointment and turn this all into a lesson for my growth and evolution as a player and human being. I apologize to the @usopen tournament and everyone associated for my behavior. I’m very grateful to my team and family for being my rock support, and my fans for always being there with me. Thank you and I’m so sorry. Cela ova situacija me čini zaista tužnim i praznim. Proverio sam kako se oseća linijski sudija, i prema informacijama koje sam dobio, oseća se dobro, hvala Bogu. Njeno ime ne mogu da otkrijem zbog očuvanja njene privatnosti. Jako mi je žao što sam joj naneo takav stres. Nije bilo namerno. Bilo je pogrešno. Želim da ovo neprijatno iskustvo, diskvalifikaciju sa turnira, pretvorim u važnu životnu lekciju, kako bih nastavio da rastem i razvijam se kao čovek, ali i teniser. Izvinjavam se organizatorima US Opena. Veoma sam zahvalan svom timu i porodici što mi pružaju snažnu podršku, kao i mojim navijačima jer su uvek uz mene. Hvala vam i žao mi je. Bio je ovo težak dan za sve.

A post shared by Novak Djokovic (@djokernole) on

EARLIER @ 6.45AM | World number 1 Novak Djokovic has been disqualified from the US Open, after hitting a lineswoman with a ball.

During the first set of his fourth round clash against Spain’s Pablo Carreño Busta, the Serbian tennis star hit a ball back towards a linewoman on his way to the baseline.

The ball hit the woman directly in the throat, and she could be heard gasping on court.

Djokovic can be seen putting his hand up in apology, and went to see if the woman was alright.

It took fifteen minutes of deliberations, but the chair umpire decided to default Djokovic, handing the match to his opponent.

Some have already disagreed with the call to disqualify Djokovic, saying it was just an accident.

The tournament, without Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal, was said to be Djokovic’s to lose.

But without the three, it leaves the door open for an Aussie to take out the grand slam.

Jordan Thompson is on the court this morning for his fourth round match, while Alex de Minaur takes the court tomorrow.

 

Subscribe
Notify of
1 Comment
oldest
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Oh that’s wrong he didn’t mean to hit the women