NRL’s best named in World and Indigenous All Stars teams

The host of the NRL’s biggest names have been included in the World and Indigenous All Stars teams for the clash in Newcastle next year.

Jarryd Hayne, Latrell Mitchell, Jake Friend, Jack Bird, Moses Mbye and Adam Elliott were just some of the players named today by World coach Mal Meninga and Indigenous coach Laurie Daley ahead of the game on Friday 10 February at McDonald Jones Stadium.

Meninga said he was excited by the opportunity to coach the World All Stars team for the first time, with many of the World All Stars players also new to the team and experience.


“The All Stars match is a fantastic way to kick off the rugby league season in Australia and I’m looking forward to the chance to be part of the build-up,” Meninga said.

Daley, who will coach his fourth consecutive Indigenous All Stars team, said he was pleased to see the game being shared with a new audience and fan-base outside of Queensland for the first time in the match’s history.

“The All Stars is a wonderful celebration for players and fans alike and I am sure that the people of Newcastle and further afield will get right behind the chance to see some of the best Indigenous and non-Indigenous players on-field,” Daley said.

Controversial Cronulla forward Andrew Fifita has been named in the Indigenous side, despite being slapped with a breach notice this week.

Fifita is reportedly set to be fined rather than suspended and has five days to respond to the breach notice, handed to him by the NRL over his relationship with convicted killer Kieran Loveridge.

He is reportedly set to be fined rather than suspended and has five days to respond to the breach notice.

World All Stars
1. Jarryd Hayne* (Gold Coast Titans) – Fijian Heritage
2. David Mead* (Brisbane Broncos) – PNG Heritage
3. Joseph Leilua* (Canberra Raiders) – Samoan Heritage
4. Konrad Hurrell (Gold Coast Titans) – Tongan Heritage
5. Nene Macdonald (St George Illawarra Dragons) – PNG Heritage
6. Mitchell Moses* (Wests Tigers) – Lebanese Heritage
7. Adam Reynolds (South Sydney Rabbitohs) – Australian Heritage
8. Nate Myles* (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles) – Australian Heritage
9. Jake Friend* (Sydney Roosters) – Australian Heritage
10. Jordan McLean* (Melbourne Storm) – Australian Heritage
11. Gavin Cooper* (North Queensland Cowboys) – Australian Heritage
12. Bryce Cartwright* (Penrith Panthers) – Australian Heritage
13. Jake Trbojevic* (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles) – Serbian Heritage
14. Reagan Campbell-Gillard* (Penrith Panthers) – Fijian Heritage
15. Sosaia Feki* (Cronulla Sharks) – Tongan Heritage
16. Sione Mata’utia* (Newcastle Knights) – Samoan Heritage
17. Sam Lisone* (New Zealand Warriors) – NZ Heritage
18. Moses Mbye* (Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs) – African Heritage
19. Tepai Moeroa* (Parramatta Eels) – Cook Islands Heritage
20. Jordan Turner* (Canberra Raiders) – English Heritage
* Denotes debut World All Stars players

Indigenous All Stars
1. Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)
2. Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)
3. Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
4. Will Chambers (Melbourne Storm)
5. Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)
6. Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)
7. Ash Taylor* (Gold Coast Titans)
8. Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)
9. Nathan Peats (Gold Coast Titans)
10. Andrew Fifita (Cronulla Sharks)
11. Joel Thompson (St George Illawarra Dragons)
12. Wade Graham (Cronulla Sharks)
13. Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)
14. Tyrone Peachey (Penrith Panthers)
15. Jack Bird* (Cronulla Sharks)
16. Leilani Latu (Penrith Panthers)
17. Latrell Mitchell* (Sydney Roosters)
18. Aidan Sezer (Canberra Raiders)
19. Kyle Turner (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Adam Elliott* (Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs)