Pan Pac Swimming Championships: Gold Coasters named in Australian Dolphins team

Swimming Australia has named its 33-strong team to contest next month’s Pan Pacific Swimming Championships in Tokyo, with 11 Gold Coasters scoring a spot.

The team consists of 17 women and 16 men, with Queensland dominating the team with 27 swim stars.

Eleven of those are from the Gold Coast, six from the Sunshine Coast, with two each from NSW and one each from WA and SA.


Olympic gold medallists Cate Campbell and Emily Seebohm have been named in their third Pan Pac teams, having made their debuts in Irvine in 2010 and making their second teams on the Gold Coast in 2014.

They join dual-Commonwealth Games gold medallist, Gold Coaster Leiston Pickett.

Swimming Australia says there are eight survivors from the 2014 Gold Coast team with Jess Ashwood, Maddie Groves, Mack Horton, Mitch Larkin, Emma McKeon and Jake Packard joining Campbell and Seebohm.

Full list of the Australian Dolphins Swim Team for the Pan Pacific Swimming Championships:

MEN: Jack Cartwright, (St Peters Western, QLD), Kyle Chalmers (Marion, SA), Alexander Graham (Bond, QLD), Mack Horton (Melbourne Vicentre, VIC), Grant Irvine (St Peters Western, QLD), Mitchel Larkin (St Peters Western, QLD, Clyde Lewis (St Peters Western, QLD), Jack McLoughlin (Chandler, QLD), David Morgan (TSS Aquatics, QLD), Jake Packard (USC Spartans, QLD), James Roberts (Somerset, QLD), Nicholas Sloman (Noosa, QLD), Zac Stubblety-Cook (West Brisbane, QLD) Elijah Winnington (Bond, QLD), Bradley Woodward (Mingara Aquatic).

WOMEN: Jessica Ashwood (Chandler, QLD), Cate Campbell (Chandler, QLD), Madeleine Gough (TSS Aquatics, QLD), Madeline Groves (Griffith University, QLD), Chelsea Gubecka (Kawana Waters, QLD), Jessica Hansen (Nunawading, VIC), Shayna Jack (Chandler, QLD), Kareena Lee (Noosa, QLD), Emma McKeon (Griffith University, QLD), Kaylee McKeown (USC Spartans, QLD), Kiah Melverton (TSS Aquatic), QLD, Leiston Pickett (Southport Olympic) QLD, Emily Seebohm (Brisbane Grammar, QLD), Mikkayla Sheridan (USC Spartans, QLD), Laura Taylor (TSS Aquatic,  QLD), Brianna Throssell (UWA West Coast, WA), Ariarne Titmus (St Peters Western, QLD.)

The Pan Pacific Swimming Championships will take place in Tokyo from August 9-14.