Snapchat’s new update sparks serious safety concerns

People are being warned about Snapchat’s latest update, which has sparked serious safety concerns around the world.

The new update, titled ‘Snap Maps’ reveals users locations by using their smartphone’s GPS sensor.

The feature displays a map, where users can see exactly where their friends are so that they can easily meet up.


ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER THIS ADVERTISEMENT


“We’ve built a whole new way to explore the world! See what’s happening, find your friends, and get inspired to go on an adventure!” Snapchat says.

“If your friends are sharing their location with you, their Actionmoji will appear on the Map.”

Snapchat Snap Map

PHOTO: Snapchat YouTube. Introducing Snap Map, 21 June 2017.

Snapchat says people can choose whether they want to display their location with friends or not.

“It’s easy to get started — just pinch to zoom out and view the Map! You decide if you want to share your location with friends, or simply keep it to yourself with Ghost Mode.”

Police in England have issued a warning to parents who may have children using the app.

“In the last few days Snapchat has released a new update which connects to your GPS, and automatically (unless activated ghost mode) shows where you are on a map to anyone who is on your friends list and posts can possibly be seen publicly depending on your settings!” Preston Police said on Facebook.

“Obviously this may cause concern for certain users, particularly those who have young children who use the app.”

They continued by telling users how to activate ‘ghost mode’, to ensure their location is hidden from the map.

If you want to turn off the Snap Map feature, follow the below steps:

    1. Open the app onto the photo taking screen.
    2. Pinch the screen to open Snap Map
    3. Click on settings in the top right corner
    4. Click “Ghost Mode” to switch off location sharing