Pipeline Masters put on hold

Organisers were confident the massive swell lashing the Hawaiian coastline would have stuck around for the opening day of the Pipe Master waiting period but they weren’t so lucky.

Rare small surf has forced organisers to call a lay day with qualifying still yet to be completed that will decide the last two competitors for the main draw.

Big swells are tipped to reach Hawaii later this week.


When competition commences, up first will be 2016 WSL CT rookie and Gold Coaster Jack Freestone, 2000 WSL Champion Sunny Garcia, Griffin Colapinto and Nathan Fletcher in the opening heat of the Pipe Invitational.

Gold Coaster superstar Mick Fanning is aiming to secure his fourth title with victory at the Pipe Masters.

But there’s plenty of competition to contend with.

Filipe Toledo, Adriano de Souza, reigning WSL Champion Gabriel Medina, Owen Wright and defending Pipe Master Julian Wilson are all in the running for the 2015 WSL Title.

Surfline, Official Forecasters for the World Surf League, are calling for:

A new/strong WNW swell will build over Tuesday (mainly over the PM) into Wednesday – strongest Tuesday night/early Wednesday with Pipe becoming maxed out by Wednesday morning.

Moderate East-ENE Trades for Tuesday, becoming quite breezy through Wed/Thurs, then decreasing some over Friday and into the weekend while veering ESE.

Surf eases some for Thursday, but still solid and with Pipe handling it better. Fading surf over Fri/Sat. Possible new bumps of NW swells for Sunday the 13th and then around the 15th-17th.

Billabong Pipe Masters Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Glenn Hall (IRL)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Keanu Asing (HAW), TBD
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), TBD
Heat 5: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Kolohe Andino (USA), TBD
Heat 6: Mick Fanning (AUS), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), TBD
Heat 7: Julian Wilson (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Ricardo Christie (NZL)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Jordy Smith (ZAF)
Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA), Taj Burrow (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Heat 10: Nat Young (USA), John John Florence (HAW), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 12: Josh Kerr (AUS), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA)