Poor swell forces lay day at Cloudbreak

A lay day has been called at the Fiji Pro event at Cloudbreak, with only small swell on offer.

“We are going to call competition off for the day,” said WSL Deputy Commissioner Renato Hickel.

“We’ve had a great run so far running in the first two days of the window and getting the first two rounds done, but today there is not much swell on offer. There are only three foot leftover waves at Cloudbreak. We will come back tomorrow to reassess the conditions and make the next call.”


Event organisers will check conditions again tomorrow morning.

With the first two rounds of the event complete, Round 3 will witness close match-ups as the world’s best surfers battle to avoid elimination when competition resumes.

Australia’s Matt Wilkinson, current World No. 1, will go head-to-head against Alejo Muniz from Brazil in Round 3 Heat 12.

Heat 4 will see an intense clash between CT heavyweights Jordy Smith  and 11-time WSL Champion Kelly Slater.

After exemplary Round 1 showings from both competitors, Round 3 Heat 4 will be an all out brawl as Slater will continue his hunt for a fifth win at the Fiji Pro.

Aussie Taj Burrow, 18-year CT veteran, will face John John Florence from Hawaii in Round 3 Heat 10. Burrow will fight to continue his run at the final Championship Tour event of his career.

When competition resumes, up first will be former event winner and 2014 WSL Champion and Brazilian Gabriel Medina against Aussie Matt Banting in the opening heat of Round 3.

Fiji Pro Round 3 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Matt Banting (AUS)
Heat 2: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Kanoa Igarashi (USA)
Heat 3: Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Kelly Slater (USA)
Heat 5: Wiggolly Dantas (BRA) vs. Conner Coffin (USA)
Heat 6: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Keanu Asing (HAW)
Heat 7: Italo Ferreira (BRA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Taj Burrow (AUS)
Heat 11: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 12: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)