Qld out of NRL finals series

Queensland no longer has a team in the NRL finals series.

The Cowboys were knocked out of the race for the Premiership by Cronulla at the Sydney Football Stadium on Friday night.

The Sharks’ 32-20 victory makes this their first grand final in 19 years.


Johnathan Thurston’s Cowboys did manage a couple of late consolation tries but it wasn’t enough.

North Queensland was of course backing-up from its win over the Broncos a week ago while Cronulla had a week off.

On Saturday night Melbourne takes on Canberra at AAMI Park starting at 7:40pm.  The Storm’s the short-priced favourites to win according to TAB Sportsbet.